Truth or Tradition- Part I

SandcastlesMatthew 7:21-27    Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.  Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?  And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity. Therefore whosoever heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them, I will liken him unto a wise man, which built his house upon a rock: And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house; and it fell not: for it was founded upon a rock. And every one that heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them not, shall be likened unto a foolish man, which built his house upon the sand: And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house; and it fell: and great was the fall of it.

     The reason why some of us can never come into the knowledge of the truth is because we are not seeking the truth.  We are merely seeking to validate, strengthen and continue our own experiences and traditions, or the religious teaching we have received from others.  More often than not, we fail to come to God with a pure heart that has its fallow ground broken up and made ready for seeds of faith to be planted therein.  Instead, we come to God with an unyielded heart saying, “God, this is what I believe, now bless it and make it happen so I can believe you for more things”.  (Psalm 24:3-5; Matthew 5:8; Matthew 15:7-9; Jeremiah 4:3-4)

Proverbs 14:12  There is a way which seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death.
Hosea 4:1-6  … My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge, I will also reject thee, that thou shalt be no priest to me: seeing thou hast forgotten the law of thy God, I will also forget thy children.

     We have become arrogant, we think we know it all and we resist anything that does not line up with our traditions, teachings or experiences.  In effect, what we have done is rejected knowledge and accepted that which seems or feels right to us.  And because of that, God has rejected us and our children.  And because we have been rejected, we cannot experience his presence like we need to.  And because we don’t have his presence like we used to, we complain that church is not as powerful as it used to be.    (Proverbs 14:12; 2:6; Luke 12:48)

Beloved, The Lord has given me a word for His people: 

   “Your search for knowledge about me, my will and my ways has not proportionately increased with your increase in ability, resources and revelation that I have already given you.  Your parents and ancestors did not have the knowledge, education and biblical resources back then that you have now.  Your ancestors did not have as much time to seek me as you do now.  Yet, you pray less than they prayed.  You study less than they studied.  You are less thankful than they were.  You are never content and your pursuit of me is for the tangible and the temporal instead of the spiritual and the eternal.

   Of course you see the church as less powerful!  My power can only be where my presence abides.  You have no power because you lack my presence.  You do not have my presence because instead of seeking me, you seek only that which feeds your ego, reputation and flesh.  You only seek me to smite your enemies, fill your earthly coffers, and build the monuments to you and your families that you call ministries.

   You have made merchandise of my people and the souls have become a means to an end instead of the reason for your ministries.  Please do not tell me that all you do is for souls.  Perhaps you have allowed yourself to become deceived into believing that the worshippers of your ministries are souls.  While you may have deceived yourselves, I am not deceived.  All souls are mine!  I said this!  Yet, you have celebritized your ministries, prostituted the anointing for gain and fame, and you have made disciples of yourselves instead of Me.  You have made my souls laborers for your own legacy.

   You have yet to ask me if I am please with you.  You have yet to lay your plans before me to see if it is my will.  Instead you have brought your will before me and demanded that I bless and prosper it.  You have prayed, “If it be thy will, Father”, but you have left no other option than that which you have already planned and activated.  Like Balaam, you will not accept a “No” from me until you can do nothing else or until I speak in such a way that you can no longer ignore me.  You have prophesized personal opinions.  You have put others in leadership who are loyal to you or who have the potential to be profitable to you and your agenda instead of those humble content saints who cannot be bribed or perverted by monetary gain or titles.

   So when you begin to pout and moan about how you think the church has let you down, remember that My Word never fails.  Is it My voice you are hearing or are your ears just itching?  Are you running toward every new trend and doctrine or are you running into my arms, seeking me with your whole heart, where you can find the truth you need to know the false from the truth”?
References: Isaiah 58:4; Ezekiel 18:4; 1 Corinthians 6:4; 2 Timothy 4:3-4; Ephesians 4:15; 1 Chronicles 28:9; Jeremiah 29:12-14

To be continued …

Please Leave a Reply

